Category: Book Awards

“Progressivism” by Bradley C. S. Watson Named Finalist for Conservative Book of the Year Award

The Intercollegiate Studies Institute (ISI) announced the finalists for the prestigious Conservative Book of the Year award on December 2, 2020. They named Bradley C. S. Watson’s Progressivism: The Strange History of a Radical Idea (University of Notre Dame Press, 2020) one of the six finalists. The award recognizes thoughtful books that contribute to the rich debate about […]

2020 Choice Outstanding Academic Titles Go To Notre Dame Press Books

The 2020 Choice Outstanding Academic Titles have been announced and two University of Notre Dame Press books were chosen by the Choice editorial staff from among the over 3,500 titles reviewed by Choice during the past year. Our outstanding works are John Hume in America: From Derry to DC by Maurice Fitzpatrick and March 1917: The Red Wheel, Node III, Book 2 by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, translated by Marian […]

“Quill and Cross in the Borderlands” receives International Latino Book Awards

Anna M. Nogar’s book, Quill and Cross in the Borderlands: Sor María de Ágreda and the Lady in Blue, 1628 to the Present, received two awards from the 2020 International Latino Book Awards: first place in the Best History Book category and first place in the Best Religious Book category. The International Latino Book Awards are the largest Latino cultural […]

Tomáš Halík’s “I Want You to Be” Named U.S. Catholic Book Club Feature

This month, the U.S. Catholic Book Club selected international best-selling author and theologian Tomáš Halík’s book, I Want You to Be: On the God of Love, as their featured August title. Originally published in 2016, the University of Notre Dame Press released a paperback edition of the critically acclaimed book in 2019. I Want You to Be received the Catholic Press Association First […]

“March 1917: The Red Wheel, Node III, Book 2,” longlisted for the 2020 READ RUSSIA PRIZE

The University of Notre Dame Press is delighted to announce that Nobel prize-winner Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn’s March 1917: The Red Wheel, Node III, Book 2, translated by Marian Schwartz, was one of twenty titles longlisted for the 2020 READ RUSSIA PRIZE. The Red Wheel is Solzhenitsyn’s multivolume epic work about the Russian Revolution. He spent decades writing about just four of the most important periods, or […]

Congratulations to our Catholic Press Association Book Award Winners

We are delighted to announce that seven titles were named Catholic Press Association Book Award winners on July 2, 2020, at the first Virtual Catholic Media Conference. This year, UNDP books received first place awards in Theology and Faithful Citizenship/ Religious Freedom  categories, second place awards in Memoir and  Faithful Citizenship/ Religious Freedom categories, third place and honorable mention in the History category, and an […]

Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Award Winners Announced

The University of Notre Dame Press is proud to announce that four of our titles were selected as Foreword INDIES Book Award winners on June 17, 2020. The awards recognize the best books published in 2019 from small, independent, and university presses. Over 2,100 entries were submitted in 55 categories, with Foreword’s editors choosing approximately 9 […]

“Defending Muḥammad in Modernity” Receives AIPS Book Award

SherAli Tareen’s book, Defending Muḥammad in Modernity, received the American Institute of Pakistan Studies 2020 Book Prize on April 28, 2020. The AIPS book prize selection committee called Tareen’s study a “sensitive and detailed examination of the debate between the Barelvīs and Deobandīs, a significant dispute in South Asian Sunni Islam since the nineteenth century, which continues to have theological, political, and social consequences […]

“Death: A Reader” Named U.S. Catholic Book Club Selection

Many of us have been struggling to process the mounting casualties announced on the daily news feed during the coronavirus pandemic. Some of us are even dealing with the death of a loved one. In Death: A Reader, chosen by the U.S. Catholic Book Club as their March selection, Mary Ann G. Cutter presents a series of readings that […]

Notre Dame Press Titles are Finalists for 2019 INDIES Book of the Year Awards

On March 20, 2020, as part of its mission to discover, review, and share the best books from university and independent publishers, Foreword Reviews announced the finalists for the 2019 INDIES Book of the Year Awards. Six Notre Dame Press titles made this year’s list of finalists: • Colin Powell: Imperfect Patriot by Jeffrey J. Matthewsis a finalist in the War & Military category. • Long Road […]